Red Hot Chili Peppers - By The Way (2002)
Cover Front Album
Artist/Composer Red Hot Chili Peppers
Format CD
Genre Funk Rock; General Rock
Label Warner Bros.
Index 15
In Collection Yes
Packaging Jewel Case
Track List
01 By The Way
02 Universally Speaking
03 This Is The Place
04 Dosed
05 Don't Forget Me
06 The Zephyr Song
07 Can't Stop
08 I Could Die For You
09 Midnight
10 Throw Away Your Television
11 Cabron
12 Tear
13 On Mercury
14 Minor Thing
15 Warm Tape
16 Venice Queen
Price € 0,00
Links Amazon US
Spars DDD
Rare No
Sound Stereo
UPC 093624814023
When the Red Hot Chili Peppers first appeared smeared in neon body paint with socks dangling precariously from their cocks, even the most faithful funk-metal convert couldn't have conceived they would be around some 20 years later, carrying on in much the same fashion. Despite a long history of tragedies and personnel upheavals, the California quartet's eighth business, as usual, is quite good. The title track, "By the Way," is a powerful, bruised piece of slap-bass and intermediary white-boy rapping. "Universally Speaking" pays sweaty, soulful tribute to singer Anthony Kiedis's hometown of Detroit. And "On Mercury" sounds eerily like it could have been lifted from 1984's Freaky Styley. The band's reliable eclectic side, meanwhile, surfaces on the Latin-flavored "Cabron" and moody "Venice Queen." But the biggest surprise is "Tear," a masterful homage to the Beach Boys that suggests the Chili Peppers' perpetual state of arrested development may someday lift. JP!!